Asia Pearl Travels Logo
Inle Lake gulls
Myanmar Travel Agency providing customized services
We do more than booking hotels, Myanmar domestic flights, guides & transports.
We assemble your complex travel needs in Myanmar with a short notice.
Overall Myanmar Travel Arrangements for your Convenience
Burmese woman saying prayers

Meditation Retreat in Myanmar

Don't go by reports, by legends, by traditions, by scripture, by logical conjecture, by inference, by analogies, by agreement through pondering views, by probability, or by the thought, 'This contemplative is our teacher.' When you know for yourselves that, 'These qualities are skillful; these qualities are blameless; these qualities are praised by the wise; these qualities, when adopted & carried out, lead to welfare & to happiness' -- then you should enter & remain in them.
- The Buddha to the Kalamas in Kalama Sutta -

You are invited to examine the teacher himself. Why develop mental culture (bhavana), which is translated as meditation? Discover those skillful mental qualities during meditation for yourself when the three roots of suffering in the world: greed, hate and delusions are at least temporarily subsided within you.

You are not expected to attain wisdom and enlightenment overnight, but why not drop the burden of Dukkha1that you are carrying on your shoulder in your journey of worldly pursuits, and view the world from a perspective unclouded by the filters of 16 mental defilements. Come experience a glimpse of the true nature of existence to lighten your burdens of Dukkha a little. Take refuge in Dhamma2 and learn to be unmoved by the winds of the World.

Myanmar offers several Insight (Vipassana) Meditation Centers where free food, lodging, and medications are provided. Your donation to the centers are optional.

Many well-known Western Buddhist teachers, scholars, authors and monks including Gil Fronsdal, Joseph Goldstein, and Jack Kornfield had gone through at least some periods of training under Burmese teachers in the tradition of Mahasi Sayadaw and Meditation Master Sayagyi U ba Khin.

Nyanaponika Thera, co-founder of the Buddhist Publication Society, author of several books on Theravada Buddhism, and teacher of contemporary Western Buddhist leaders such as Bhikkhu Bodhi had spend time in Burma for Insight Meditation training under the renowned meditation teacher Ven. Mahasi Sayadaw Thera.

But, as the Budhha says, "Don't go by reports, by traditions..." Come visit Myanmar and experience it for yourself. Contact Asia Pearl Travels for arrangements.


Foot Notes:
  1. Dukkha: imperfections and impermanence of conditioned existence; the word is usually associated with pain and suffering.
  2. Dhamma: nature of things; doctrine; liberating law discovered and proclaimed by the Buddha; ALL conditioned and non-conditioned states including Nibbana.